Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
The Power of InactionBank Bailouts in Comparison$

Cornelia Woll

Print publication date: 2014

Print ISBN-13: 9780801452352

Published to Cornell Scholarship Online: August 2016

DOI: 10.7591/cornell/9780801452352.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM Cornell University Press SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.cornell.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright University of Cornell University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in Cornell for personal use (for details see http://cornell.universitypressscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy/privacy-policy-and-legal-notice). Subscriber: null; date: 20 June 2018

(p.181) Appendix

(p.181) Appendix

The Power of Inaction

Cornelia Woll

Cornell University Press

List of Interviews

The semidirected interviews were conducted between November 2009 and May 2013. Each interview lasted between thirty minutes and two hours and was held in English, French, or German. All material is dealt with anonymously, so that citations cannot be linked to the authors or their institutions. Translations for French or German quotations are my own. To allow situating individual quotations in time, the date of the interviews appears in the text, not in the list below. Anonymous transcripts containing longer portions of the quoted text are available on request.

  • Henner Asche, head of Market Analyses, Deutsche Bundesbank

  • Lorenzo Bini-Smaghi, member of the Executive Board of the European Central Bank, 2005–11

  • Giacomo Caviglia, principal financial stability expert, Financial Stability Policy Division, European Central Bank

  • Christoph Crüwell, head of unit Organization, Division of Bank Supervision, Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin)

  • Derek Dunne, Euro Preparations Unit, Her Majesty’s Treasury

  • Stephan Evans, deputy director, Financial Stability and Contingency Planning, Her Majesty’s Treasury

  • Barney Frank, congressman (D-MA) 1981–2013; chair of the House Committee on Banking and Financial Services, 2007–11

  • Martina Garcia, deputy director, Banking and Financial Sector Analysis, Her Majesty’s Treasury

  • Heiko Hofer, central unit Markets, Deutsche Bundesbank

  • Alexander Jochum, senior advisor, Division of Bank Supervision, BaFin

  • (p.182) Robert Steven Kaplan, professor at Harvard Business School; former vice chairman of Goldman Sachs with oversight responsibility for the investment banking, 2002–5

  • Donald Kohn, Brookings Institute; former vice chairman of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, 2006–10

  • Hans-Helmut Kotz, former board member of the Deutsche Bundesbank, 2002–10

  • Françoise Malrieu, president of the Société de Financement de l’Economie Française

  • Sylvie Matherat, director for Financial Stability, Banque de France; Basel Committee

  • Marco Mazzucchelli, investment banker; former deputy CEO—global head of banking at Royal Bank of Scotland Global Banking & Markets, 2009–11

  • Günther Merl, president of the German Banking Stabilization Fund SoFFin, 2008–9

  • Philippe Mongars, deputy director of the Financial Stability Directorate, Banque de France; Basel Committee

  • Patrick Montagner, director of Controlling General and Specialised Credit Establishments, Autorité de Contrôle Prudentiel

  • David Moss, professor at Harvard Business School, affiliated with the work of the Congressional Oversight Panel for the Troubled Asset Relief Program

  • Ulrich Müller, executive director of Lobbycontrol

  • Michel Pébéreau, former chairman of BNP Paribas, 2003–11

  • Nicola Pesaresi, head of Unit State Aid Case Support, DG COMP, European Commission

  • Jesper Rangvid, professor at Copenhagen Business School; chairman of the Danish inquiry report commissioned by the Ministry for Business and Growth

  • Imène Rahmouni-Rousseau, head of unit, Office of Financial Stability and Markets, Banque de France; Financial Stability Board since 2010

  • Antoine Saintoyant, chief of office Banking and Credit Institutions, French Ministry of the Economy, Finances, and Industry

  • Damon Silvers, deputy chair of the Congressional Oversight Panel of TARP; General Counsel, American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations

  • Peer Steinbrück, former finance minister of Germany, 2005–9

  • Jean-Claude Trichet, former governor of the European Central Bank, 2003–11

  • Jean Tricou, director of the Department for Investment Banks and Market, Fédération Bancaire Française

  • Vincent Vignale, financial advisor at Citigroup Investment Banking

  • Mario Wandsleb, SoFFin, Bundesanstalt für Finanzmarktstabilisierung